Renting at Orange Harbor 

Orange Harbor is a popular community for seasonal and annual rentals due to its convenient location and quick access to Ft. Myers attractions. In addition, for a homeowner who may only live in the community part-time, renting the home is a great way to enjoy additional income.

Are you a renter?

Read this information first before proceeding.
1. To be able to rent, you must meet an age requirement. One person in the home must be 55; the minimum age is 40.

2. The first time you rent at the community, you must have a background/credit check.

3. Most homeowners do not allow pets when renting.

4. Orange Harbor allows renting for a minimum of 30 days.

5. New rental rates for 2015 - 2016 are listed at right. Our prices are comparable to the rental market in Ft. Myers. Be sure to review.

If you meet the criteria above, fill out the form at the link below. Once you have submitted the form, a rental agent will contact you in May when we know which homes will be available for rent.

Renter Form

Are you a homeowner?

Read this information first before proceeding.

1. A rental agent will inspect your home to ensure that it is "rental ready, " according to Florida Statute 83.51. An inspection list is available at the sales office.

2. Any owner renting their home is required to have liability insurance for their protection. The insurance must be in place when you sign the Landlord/Tenant Agreement.

3. Owner must fill out all required paperwork by December 1, 2015 to rent home for season in 2016. No exceptions.

4. An out-cleaning fee is included in the rental rate.

5. Due to the popular demand for cable, we encourage homeowners to include cable when renting their home.

If you would like to rent your home through Barefoot Realty, fill out the form that's located at the link below.

Homeowner Form

Common Questions About Renting at Orange Harbor

When is "season" in Florida?
Season is generally the months from January through April; however, we do begin to see more visitors during November and December, as well.

How does the rental program work?
After you have submitted the form on this page, a rental agent will contact you in May.  No matter whether a renter or homeowner, each party will fill out a Tenant/Landlord Agreement that will outline all obligations.

What are the fees for renting?
The first time a visitor rents at Orange Harbor, they are required to have a background/credit check as part of the approval process. The fee is $50 and is not refundable.  Other fees required of the renter are a $500 security deposit  and  an 11% state/county tax that will be added to the rate. These fees are collected and paid direct to the state/county. The security deposit and background check fees are due upon submission of the Agreement. All other fees are due 30 days prior to the first day of the rental period. All fees must be paid prior to your arrival. No exceptions.

What are the fees to rent my home?
The cost for an owner to rent a home on a seasonal or annual basis is 10% of the gross revenue. An owner does not pay the fee until a renter is approved for your home.

What is the minimum amount of time I can rent my home?
Residents are allowed to rent their home for a minimum of 30 days, according to the community's rules.

I currently have my home for sale, can I also rent my home too?
Absolutely. While your home is for sale, you can also rent it out allowing you to have income while your home is on the market.

If your home sells while it is being rented, the buyer must honor the rental agreement that is in place. When you close on the home, the new buyer will begin to receive the rental income. A home becomes even more attractive to a potential buyer when there is rental income, so having a renter is very positive for selling your home.


Seasonal Rental Rates


1 bed/1 bath

$1,500 - $2,000 per month  ($50 to $67 per day)


2 bed/ 1 or 2 bath

$1800 - $2,300 per month  ($60 to $77 per day)


2 bed/2 bath

$2,000 - $2,500 per month  ($67 to $83 per day)



1 or 2 beds/1 bath

$2,000 - $2,500 per month ($67 - $83 per day)


2 bed/2 bath

$2,500 - $3,000 per month  ($83 to $100 per day)



If you book for more than 3 months, you will receive $200 off seasonal rate for 4th month. This special applies to seasonal renting only.

For more information, contact Broker Associate Paul Rugenstein or Sales Associate Fran Tomlin

Toll Free: 855-694-3792